References:

The One Interview Question I Ask Every Potential Hire – https://www.forbes.com/sites/moiraforbes/2016/09/09/the-one-interview-question-i-ask-every-potential-hire/

Collaborative Hiring – The Top 10 Reasons Why You Should Switch To It – https://www.ere.net/collaborative-hiring-the-top-10-reasons-why-you-should-switch-to-it/

Why Make Applicants Jump Through Rings Of Fire? – https://www.ere.net/why-make-applicants-jump-through-rings-of-fire/

100 Million Reasons to Hire for Character – https://www.recruiter.com/i/100-million-reasons-to-hire-for-character/

The Three Best Predictors of On-the-Job Success – https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/20140127062123-15454-the-three-best-predictors-of-on-the-job-success

How to Predict On-the-Job Success – https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/20130621001452-15454-a-simple-plan-to-break-the-national-skills-gap

6 Interview Red Flags For Employers – https://www.recruiter.com/i/6-interview-red-flags-for-employers/

Your Team Can Smell a Rat – https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/20130919225824-39785422-your-team-can-smell-a-rat

Why Good Candidates Fail: Beware the 90 Percent Job Fit – https://www.ere.net/why-good-candidates-fail-beware-the-90-percent-job-fit/

The Rise of The Hiring Machines – Inc Magazine, February 2015

Show Me These 4 Things and I’ll Show You a Quality Hire – https://www.ere.net/show-me-these-4-things-and-ill-show-you-a-quality-hire/

3 Soft Skills You Need To Be Able To Spot In Candidates – https://www.ere.net/3-soft-skills-you-need-to-be-able-to-spot-in-candidates/

Rethinking Work: Use the Corporate Life Cycle to Guide Your Hiring Decisions – https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/20130812035921-15454-rethinking-work-are-you-in-the-right-job

The Problem Might Not Be the Hiring Manager. It Might Be You. – https://www.ere.net/the-problem-might-not-be-the-hiring-manager-it-might-be-you/

Internships Help Build Talent Pipelines – https://www.clomedia.com/2015/08/04/internships-help-build-talent-pipelines/

Why Hiring for Fit Is Baloney – https://www.inc.com/barry-schuler/why-hiring-for-fit-is-baloney.html

Do You Look for Cultural Fit, or for Innovation? – https://www.ere.ner/2013/07/05/do-you-look-for-cultural-fit-or-for-innovation/

Hiring Stronger People Starts By Redefining Stronger – https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/20140107230405-15454-hiring-stronger-people-starts-by-how-you-define-stronger-people

How Being Selfish Built Zappos -https://www.recruiter.com/i/how-being-selfish-built-zappos/

Michael Hyatt – This Is Your Life Podcast, Season 3, Episode 2, January 21, 2014

7 Great Questions To Ask An Applicant’s References – https://www.ere.net/7-great-questions-to-ask-an-applicants-references/

Mr. Background Check’s Checkup – https://www.ere.net/mr-background-checks-checkup/

Is Your Background Screener Doing the Job? Here’s How to Tell – https://www.ere.net/is-your-background-screener-doing-the-job-heres-how-to-tell/

Should Reference Checks Include Social Networking Sites? – https://www.recruiter.com/i/should-reference-checks-include-social-networking-sites/

You’ll Think I’m Crazy, But You Should Put This in Job Ads – https://www.ere.net/youll-think-im-crazy-but-you-should-put-this-in-job-ads/

Finding and Targeting Passive Job Candidates: You’re Doing It Wrong – https://mashable.com/2015/03/08/targeting-passive-candidates/#SRFVbPzzqPqD

4 Message That Job Postings Send Talent By Mistake – https://mashable.com/2014/11/22/job-postings-messages/#icNYoElljaqP

Women With Normal BMIs Face Weight Discrimination – https://www.scarymommy.com/women-weight-discrimination-on-the-job/

The Truth About Bias In The Hiring Process – https://www.businessinsider.com/the-truth-about-bias-in-the-hiring-process-2013-3

Are Your Emotions Preventing You From Making Great Hiring Decisions? – https://www.ere.net/are-your-emotions-preventing-you-from-making-great-hiring-decisions/

When Bad Job Applicants Can Be Your Best Hire – https://www.inc.com/when-bad-job-applicants-can-be-your-best-hire.html

Experience Is Overrated – Arguments for Hiring Talented Individuals Without Perfect Credentials – https://www.ere.net/experience-is-overrated-arguments-for-hiring-talented-individuals-without-perfect-credentials/

Don’t Pass On Game-Changer Candidates Who Are Still Rookies – https://www.ere.net/dont-pass-on-game-changer-candidates-who-are-still-rookies/

The Top 10 Reasons Why Rejecting ‘Job Jumpers’ Is Dumb, and a Missed Opportunity – https://www.ere.net/the-top-10-reasons-why-rejecting-job-jumpers-is-dumb-and-a-missed-opportunity/

The Paradox of the Quest for Hiring Perfection – https://www.ere.net/the-paradox-of-the-quest-for-hiring-perfection/

Who’s to Blame for the Perfect Fit Syndrome? – https://www.ere.net/2014/03/06/whos-to-blame-for-the-perfect-fit-syndrome/

CyberSecurity Interview Questions You Need To Know

Cybersecurity interviews usually differ from others in that they often combine a mix of technical questions and standard getting-to-know-you inquiries. Candidates really have to be prepared when it comes to interviewing for security analyst careers. First, you want to create a brief elevator pitch to communicate that you are a trustworthy, reliable [...]

2021-07-04T15:48:29-04:00

Turn a Great Candidate into Your Perfect Employee

Remember that saying that you’ve been hearing ever since you were a little kid, “nobody’s perfect.” This also applies to job candidates. You can spend as much time and resources as you want searching for them, but you will only be setting yourself up for disappointment. Instead, get rid of your unrealistic [...]

2020-01-28T01:06:22-05:00

Think You’ve Mis-Hired? These Are the Warning Signs

It happens to even the most seasoned and experienced hiring manager: sometimes a bad hire will slip through the cracks. It stinks, but the best you can do is identify mis-hires as soon as possible, determine the appropriate next steps, and not make the same mistakes in the future. Read on to [...]

2020-01-28T01:01:02-05:00

How to Do a Reference Check Right (and Wrong)

Think that taking a quick look at someone’s LinkedIn is enough of a reference check? Think again. Talented interviewers will say anything in an interview. You owe it to yourself and your company to hire smart, which means always double checking a candidate’s references before sending over that offer letter. Keep reading [...]

2020-01-28T00:59:16-05:00

Interview Smart – Don’t Make These Mistakes!

Just initially identifying great candidates can be a huge struggle and time commitment. Once you finally find an applicant that sounds good and looks good on paper, you might be tempted to just go with your gut and hire straight away. But not too fast! Keep in mind the following interview techniques [...]

2020-01-28T00:57:28-05:00

Create the Perfect Job Posting to Attract Qualified Candidates

Before you even start thinking about phone and in-person interviews, you need to develop a strong job posting that catches the attention of potential candidates, piques their interest, stirs their desire, and prompts them to action. Keep these tips in mind if you want to have a pool of top talent to [...]

2020-01-28T00:56:21-05:00
Go to Top